Dock bugs

I’m amazed by how much you can notice in a small garden when you’re looking for it. Today I discovered that we have at least four dock bugs living on and around our sorrel, which is no surprise as it’s one of their favourite foods. And I believe sorrel is of the same plant family as dock – presumably, the dock bugs’ love of these plants has led to their name. Seeing four leads me to believe that there are even more of them lurking beneath the leaves, which is fine by me.

Dock bugs on a dead leaf

Dock bugs on a dead leaf

Coreus marginatus (dock bug) nymph on a chive head

Coreus marginatus (dock bug) nymph on a chive head

These bugs (above) aren’t fully developed – they’re ‘late instar nymphs’ of the coreus marginatus (dock bug) apparently.  All those I saw today are this sort of age – not sure precisely how old this makes them. I’ve read that they let out a nasty smell when feeling threatened. Thankfully, they didn’t seem to be…

I also saw the corizus hyoscyami once again on the same plant, and this is the latest incarnation of the nymph:

Corizus hyoscyami 'final instar' nymph

Corizus hyoscyami ‘final instar’ nymph

Leave a Reply

