Hear no weevil, see no weevil

When I picked up a candle in my house to smell it, I did not expect to see this on the other side:

Vine weevil

Vine weevil

Apologies for the blurry picture – my camera doesn’t seem to like indoor lighting. Or, at least, that’s what I’m blaming it on.

Perhaps it was trying to avoid being tracked with one of these transmitters: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-shropshire-23784135

Sorry to say, I let it free in the garden before I knew what it was! Farmers and gardeners alike are desperate to kill it, and I could have reduced the vine weevil population by one. But I didn’t. I just hope I don’t end up regretting it. One of our dahlias is looking particularly tragic, thanks to being eaten by something – and possibly this.

Why are they such a pest? As well as the extent of the damage they do to plants (primulas, fuchsias, begonias, evergreen plants, strawberry and raspberry plants and plants in pots are most at risk, apparently), they are difficult to spot until it’s too late. When the plant starts to wilt, this is the first visible sign of attack by its larvae, which feed on plant roots. The adults take a bite out of the leaves.

Forgetting all this evil behaviour, I quite like the way it looks! Its long, pointed snout is unusual, so I was happy to see it and take a photo. Interestingly, it can’t fly.

Hope there’s not an infestation of them in here though, as I’ve just read something saying they breed all year round when indoors, so the pest is always present…

Onto a cheerier topic, here’s a familiar face from the garden – the corizus hyoscyami nymph, but older now:

Corizus hyoscyami nymph, but older

Corizus hyoscyami nymph, but older

Leave a Reply

