Late summer highlights

It has been a long time since my last post, but, while I haven’t seen many insects – or much wildlife – these last few cold months (partly because I’ve been hibernating myself), I still have lots of photos from the tail end of last summer to share.

Here are a couple of my favourites, with no real theme to them…

A bumblebee and a honey bee share a drink from eryngium bourgatii (I think), otherwise known as Sea Holly

A bumblebee and a honey bee share a drink from eryngium bourgatii (I think), otherwise known as Sea Holly

 

Possibly a hoverfly (eupeodes luniger) on a dahlia

Possibly a hoverfly (eupeodes luniger) on a dahlia

 

Silver Y (autographa gamma) moth resting on clothing pegged on a clothesline

Silver Y (autographa gamma) moth resting on clothing pegged on a clothesline

 

A 7-spot ladybird (coccinella septempunctata) eating aphids, while Cabbage White caterpillars feast on a nasturtium leaf

A 7-spot ladybird (coccinella septempunctata) eating aphids, while Cabbage White caterpillars feast on a nasturtium leaf

 

Leave a Reply

